Argos no Juujiken

From Sega Retro


ArgosnoJuujiken title.png
Argos no Juujiken
Publisher: Salio
System(s): Sega Master System
Genre: Action

Number of players: 1-2 (alternating)
Release Date RRP Code
Sega Master System
¥5,000 001

This teeny-tiny article needs some work. You can help us by expanding it.

Argos no Jūjiken (アルゴスの十字剣, lit. "The Crossed Blade of Argos") is a side-scrolling action game released for the Sega Master System by Salio. It is an adaptation of the 1986 arcade game Argos no Senshi (アルゴスの戦士, lit. "Warrior of Argos") by Tecmo, which was released in the west under the title Rygar. This is one of two Master System games to be published by Salio.

Argos no Jūjiken is much closer to the original arcade game compared to its Famicom counterpart released the previous year, titled Argos no Senshi: Hachamecha Daishingeki (アルゴスの戦士 はちゃめちゃ大進撃), which featured overhauled level designs and altered key elements of the gameplay, resulting in a very different product. However Argos no Jūjiken' lacks the end of level sequences from the arcade game, abruptly cutting to the next stage instead.

Production credits

  • Program: Beginning Futaba, Exp 214B
  • Design: Kigimunar Gadumure, Albert Hammer
  • Sound: Heavy Metal S, Strong Shima
  • Produced by Salio

Magazine articles

Main article: Argos no Juujiken/Magazine articles.

Physical scans

Master System, JP
AnJ SMS JP Box Back.jpgArgosnoJuujiken SMS JP Box Spine.jpgAnJ SMS JP Box Front.jpg
AnJ SMS JP Cart.jpg